MotoGP: Andrea Dovizioso beats Valentino Rossi to Malaysia win

Ducati rider Andrea Dovizioso took victory in the Malaysian Grand Prix to become the ninth different race winner in MotoGP this season.

Dovizioso, 30, started from pole after the race in Sepang had been delayed by rain, but dropped to third early on.

He overhauled fellow Italian Valentino Rossi for the lead with five laps left after Rossi ran wide and pushed home his advantage.

It was only his second MotoGP victory in 159 races.

“It’s really nice to come to this moment,” said Dovizioso. “In these conditions I struggled a lot in the race and had some problems, but I really wanted it.”

Rossi finished second ahead of Spaniard Jorge Lorenzo to secure runners-up spot in the championship, while Spanish world champion Marc Marquez, who had been hampered by illness over the past few days, crashed out of fourth place during the race and eventually finished 11th.

Malaysian Grand Prix result

1. Andrea Dovizioso (Ita) Ducati 42 minutes 27.333 seconds

2. Valentino Rossi (Ita) Yamaha 42:30.448

3. Jorge Lorenzo (Spa) Yamaha 42:39.257

4. Hector Barbera (Spa) Ducati 42:47.249

5. Loris Baz (Fra) Ducati 42:48.686

6. Maverick Vinales (Spa) Suzuki 42:50.265

7. Alvaro Bautista (Spa) Aprilia 42:53.162

8. Jack Miller (Aus) Honda 43:00.079

9. Pol Espargaro (Spa) Yamaha 43:01.037

10. Danilo Petrucci (Ita) Ducati 43:01.613

Championship standings

1. Marc Marquez (Spa) Honda 278

2. Valentino Rossi (Ita) Yamaha 236

3. Jorge Lorenzo (Spa) Yamaha 208

4. Maverick Vinales (Spa) Suzuki 191

5. Andrea Dovizioso (Ita) Ducati 162

WSB: Davies does the double as Rea gifts Sykes second

WSB: Davies does the double as Rea gifts Sykes second

Published: 30 October 2016

A stopped and restarted race took place over only ten laps in the final analysis, with the championship top three locked in a fight to see who would finish second behind already crowned champion Rea.

After Saeed Al Sulaiti’s Pedercini Kawasaki had burst into flames and spread oil on the track the first attempt had to be red-flagged and a short full points race re-run, with the grid places from where each rider finished the red flagged race.

Davies and Rea became the fight at the end as Rea passed Sykes at mid-race distance.

With two laps to go Rea was in Davies’ slipstream and with one he was just 0.487 seconds behind the Ducati rider.

Rea, unable to pass Davies, slowed his pace to and his team-mate passed over the line to ensure he and not Davies would finish second in the championship, giving Kawasaki a 1-2 in the final riders’ rankings.

Davies ended the season with 11 race wins, Rea nine and Sykes five, with the final top three points scorers were Rea on 498, Sykes 447 and Davies 445.

Sylvain Guintoli (Pata Yamaha Official WorldSBK Team) beat the fast starting and finishing stand-in rider Leon Haslam (Pedercini Racing Kawasaki) to fourth spot, with Jordi Torres (Althea BMW Racing Team) sixth and Nicky Hayden (Honda World Superbike Team) seventh – despite Hayden having to start the first red flagged ‘race’ from pitlane after he exceeded his limit of engine numbers.

Irwin confirmed alongside Byrne for BSB 2017

Glenn Irwin has been confirmed alongside Shane Byrne in Paul Bird’s Be Wiser Ducati team for 2017 – but only on Twitter.

Much hoo-ha was made about Byrne’s two-year deal with the team which was announced today but no mention was made of Irwin’s fate in communications from the Penrith-based squad.

At lunchtime, the team Tweeted that Irwin would remain in the MCE British title-winning squad for another year.

Duis vitae metus facilisis

Quam maximus fringilla aliquet a elit, nunc et eros non massa malesuada mollis nec sit amet nibh. Phasellus eros dolor, viverra in eleifend semper, hendrerit nec lectus. Pellentesque justo ligula, feugiat in purus at, convallis sagittis urna. Nulla malesuada, arcu id tempus tempor, sapien neque commodo erat, ut sodales velit augue sed nibh.

Continue reading